Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Whatever.

The overturned Derek Dorsett goal against Dallas, with no underlying penalty, was the proper call?

Madness.

8 comments:

  1. The reason why this is a legal non goal is because the Ref can deem a goal a non goal because of goalie interference and not have a penalty. It is at the discretion of the Referee. Saying that Rooney can go eat a Doughnut for all I care if he can't make proper calls he shouldn't be on the ice.

    ReplyDelete
  2. like to point out my word verification was godam!! awesome!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Are we getting to a point where no ones even going to be able to look at a goalie since it might startle him and interfere with his ability to play the puck?

    ReplyDelete
  4. You know, I could actually live with that interpretation IF THAT WAS THE RULE.

    Go ahead, make it a rule. Get rid of the crease. Tell the teams that no one touches the goaltender. Period. Doesn't matter where on the ice the goalie happens to be, you just don't touch him.

    But make that a rule and not some moron referee's discretion.

    To overturn a goal because, well, you just didn't like the fact that the goaltender was out of the crease and happened to get touched by a charging forward? No, that's silly. And lazy officiating.

    ReplyDelete
  5. http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26480

    Read the last sentence of that first paragraph. I believe this says it is the rule DBJ sorry. I disagree with the call and think it is a complete joke but it is part of the rule.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Then it's a stupid rule that defies common sense.

    Whatever.

    ReplyDelete
  7. That's stupid. I thought the idea of the crease was to protect him from that stuff. Outside, he should be fair game. What's the point of the crease, then?

    ReplyDelete
  8. I seldom, if EVER, see detriot get an interference call while they are "in the crease"with the tender. Likewise 90-95% of the "contact"with the goalies throughout the league aren't called. I believe this call was made because the official DIDN'T ACTUALLY SEE THE CALL himself. He saw the result of the play and the IMMEDIATE reaction of the dallas players. As for the league office, they CERTAINLY aren't going to ADMIT a mistake was made, especially not one involving the Jackets. So life goes on and it's STILL up to this team to EARN its' respect, both from its opponents and Toronto.

    ReplyDelete